Skip to content

Another Smoky Eye, This Time With More Purple

October 23, 2009

I got a couple of items from Sephora’s Friends & Family sale (I know, I know), including the Smashbox Eye Wish Palette and a Benefit Boi-ing/Eyebright combo palette. Actually, not including — that’s it. I’ll do proper reviews on them later, although I think I’ve already discussed how I feel about Smashbox shadows (which is: They’re pretty good). I think I like the Boi-ing and I know I like the Eyebright.

So of course after the UPS guy brought my new treats, I had to try them. I did the now-usual routine for foundation/blush/lips, and then used as much new stuff as I could fit on two eyelids. Actually, that’s not true. I could have fit a lot more.

This is the overall look, but I don’t know why I look like a vampire here. The sun wasn’t out yesterday, so the lighting was weird, and… yeah. Vampire. Plus, the shadows are weird; in real life, at least, the Boi-ing did a much better job of concealing those dark circles. Wait, maybe I actually am a vampire. (My Halloween costume idea, at present, is to lotion up, dump glitter all over myself, and go as a Twilight vamp. Ha!)

Overall I like the way the eye looks. I’m trying to find something to do for when Z and I go out for our anniversary dinner. I used both Benefit items (with Eyebright on the brow ridge, inner eye corner, outer eye corner, and top of the cheekbone), and the Eye Wish palette #13 — a creamy purply-dark liner/shadow — #9, which looked like it might be kind of MAC Trax-y but kind of isn’t — and #7, a gold glitter. I promise swatches and pics soon. Also, as usual, Too Faced Lash Injection mascara, my very favorite.

I think in this picture you can sort of tell that the dark circles are really not as bad as usual. I think I like the Boi-ing! The eyeshadow is more… brown and less purple-red than I had hoped, alas.

So, since lots of my former readers are back, what do you want to see? I know that me fapping about my makeup of the day isn’t that entertaining; mostly I’ve been doing it to get back in the habit of near-daily blogging. I’ll definitely post some reviews and more swatches of cosmetics and nail polish. Fashion itself is kind of eluding me, but I might try to put together Theoretical Outfits, and talk more about accessories and stuff. What would be interesting for you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 2:21 pm

    Interesting post. I like the color on you, despite it being more brown than purple.

  2. October 23, 2009 3:04 pm

    U look dreamy πŸ™‚

    I know this sounds like spam, but since you know me, it’s really not!

    For more makeup tips, check out Michellephan on Youtube. She’s got awesome video tutorials on everything (even makeup for guys!).

    http://www.youtube.com/user/MichellePhan

    And if you’re wondering why I’m subscribed to a make up girl, it’s because of her Halloween makeup tutorials. πŸ˜‰

  3. Olerica permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:28 pm

    Stunning. I like the purple eye (yes, it is more brown-ish).

  4. Olerica permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:29 pm

    On the future topics? I’d love to find more plus sized clothes vendors/ideas.

  5. Betse permalink
    October 23, 2009 5:37 pm

    so you know what’s weird? i was thinking about the same thing for a Halloween costume…

  6. October 23, 2009 6:42 pm

    OUT OF MY HEAD, BETSE!

    Cpd, I am not even remotely surprised that you have a subscription to a makeup tutorial channel… that’s probably one of the reasons we get along, si? Thanks for the compliment πŸ™‚

  7. October 26, 2009 9:19 pm

    I love Sephora!!! I don’t think you look like a vamp, just so you know. πŸ™‚
    ICLW

Leave a Reply

