Skip to content

Smoky Eye is Watching You

October 20, 2009

That’s right, just the one smoky eye. Last night I spent a good while watching YouTube makeup tutorials from panacea81, aka Lauren Luke. I have no idea how I’d entirely missed her existence before, but I kind of have a crush. She seems very honest, down to earth, and… real. Know what I mean? Anyway, thank God there are about a ton of the videos so that I can obsess properly over learning her makeup techniques. She’s got a really good one on basic foundation/bronzer/blush that I will talk about in more detail sometime soon, but you should check it out meanwhile.

So today I was in sort of a panic mode; I have far too much to do, not enough time to do it in, and I’ve been in OCD anxiety overdrive lately. Like, really bad to the point of just staying in bed a lot. (I’m working on it.) For some reason, instead of actually doing stuff, I decided to use the technique she shows in her Paramore Ignorance inspired look tutorial for a smoky eye. I’ve tried to pull off a smoky look in the past and generally with my dark circles just end up looking like someone punched me. Somehow, in all my fashion magazine reading, I’d never seen the tip to put a black eyeliner or cream pigment of some kind as a base. I think that made the entire difference. I really just used Smashbox cream eyeliner in Caviar and Estee Lauder Pure Color eyeshadow in Smokey. I’ve got some Rimmel Gold Digger glitter mascara on, but I’m disappointed because it doesn’t actually seem to have glitter, and a bit of white eyeshadow in the corners. I didn’t bother doing anything about my spots or the undereye circles, so you’ll forgive that, right?

I definitely recommend Lauren’s tutorials. I think I’m learning a lot — as I said, about the dark base for the look, and also how much you actually have to BLEND. Watch how long she blends; most videos I have seen cut away, and magazines just say “blend it out,” but in her video you can get an exact idea of what you need to do.

So here’s my smoky eye. I hate the white spots I have by my eyelids but there’s apparently nothing to be done about them. Ugh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

