Skip to content

Boys Do Make Passes

October 19, 2009

Please, I already want to shoot myself for the title, so don’t point out how asinine it is. Kthx.

I first got glasses, as I may have mentioned here, in February of 2008. I got frames I thought were socuteomg but as it turns out they’re not that great for my face, and also I can see them ALL THE TIME. So from this I deduced that the lens is too small, and the frame is the wrong shape for me, and also, they’re black, which is kind of severe with my skin tone.

Fortunately for me, my prescription has changed! That’s right, in just 18 months my sight has deteriorated to the point where things are blurry in my glasses! Those of you who read Little  Birdhouse as well (my domestic blog; have a look, would you?) may recall my slight freakout there. Things get a little blurry and I become convinced I have a brain tumor, or that I’ll be blind within the week, or something else horrible. But no; I still actually have 20/20 vision when using both eyes together. It’s just blurry. I have a slight astigmatism in the left eye, and a tiny bit of nearsightedness in both. It has been pointed out to me that if I weren’t used to 20/10 or better vision, that this would be an entirely trivial change.

But it’s not, and even with my glasses things are blurry and give me a headache and make me panic (like, when I’m in the car and they’re moving at my face going 60mph). How is this fashion-related? Well, new frames, of course. Through various online friends and acquaintances, I’ve heard good things about Zenni Optical, and they’re certainly cheaper than going through the doctor’s office. Particularly with such a weak Rx, I think it’s a good option for me. I might pick up a couple of pairs of frames, since they’re so… cheap.

I tried on a lot at the office today, and on virtual try-on things as well. I’ve discovered that I really want the lens to be at least 51mm wide, and the nose bridge 17mm or more. Since they don’t put the lens height or overall frame width in an easily accessible place, I really can’t tell what I’m looking for in those numbers. So I hope I get something good. If you feel like helping me search, I’d love it! I’m looking for a warm color in the frame, nothing too bulky, and I’ll put the specs of the specs under the images.

My favorites of the ones I tried on at the eye doctor were these. The shape and size is just about perfect, and the rims aren’t so thick as to drive me nuts.

Tommy Hilfiger 3225; 52/18-135; lens height is 26.2

Tommy Hilfiger 3225; 52/18-135; lens height is 26.2

There were also a pair I liked from Ted Baker, but I can’t find them for the life of me, so.

I’m poking around on Zenni Optical, and I’ve found a few pairs to consider. First up is one I’d like to get for fun; the lenses are a little bit bigger than the pair I tried on and loved, but the point of this pair would be to rock the slightly-nerdy 80s look (not that hard for me). What do you think?

Zenni 2210; 53-18/142

Zenni 2210; 53/18-142, lens height is 33

These would perhaps be good for everyday; I really would like something a bit more substantial than a wire rim, because I feel like it Makes Me Look Older, but these seem to share an overall shape and size, roughly, with the Tommy Hilfigers I liked. I think I’d get them in brown, if I get them at all.

Zenni 3127; 50/19-136, lens height 24

Zenni 3127; 50/19-136, lens height 24

Or perhaps these. I like the shape, the color’s fine, but the frame might be a little too thick. I’m like Goldilocks, here.

Zenni 3396; 51/19-140, lens height is 26

Zenni 3396; 51/19-140, lens height is 26

Opinions? Thoughts? Other etailers you want to link me to? Let me know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. karlinda permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:45 am

    I love the third ones. Either those or the first would work great with your face-shape.

  2. October 21, 2009 12:16 pm

    I like the top and bottom pair the best!

    I, too, have a terrible time picking out glasses. One of the biggest problems is that I can’t see very well without my glasses, so the process of, well, trying on glasses, is less than easy. I recently got these (http://www.glassesonweb.com/catalog/liz.claiborne_ablz/eyeglasses/liz_claiborne_322_l322_dark_plum_fade_pid107560.html) in dark plum. They’re only 52mm, though, not 55.

    Good luck!

    • October 22, 2009 1:27 pm

      Thanks for the thoughts on which pairs looked good, everyone 🙂 I appreciate it. It’s so hard to pick frames…

Leave a Reply

