Skip to content

Lacquered Up: OPI Kinky in Helsinki

October 17, 2009

I forgot to mention that I’ve also elected nail polish one of my Things I Do. It’s fairly cheap, doesn’t take much time (all things considered), comes in lots of colors (can you say on trend?), and only PROBABLY contains 800 chemicals that will kill you dead from all the time you spend inhaling them. My collection is still quite small, but I’m working on it; at anywhere from free (love you, coupons) to $8 (and that’s really high-end), it’s easy to pick one up every few weeks.

For a long time I didn’t paint my nails because — and let’s be honest here — I suck at it. Badly. I’m right-handed, but even when I paint the left hand I really sort of paint the whole hand. Let’s not talk about Shaky McLeft Hand Painting. The thing I’ve noticed is that as long as I do the polish and then have a shower before I actually have to be in public, the worst of the misplaced shellac disappears and it almost looks like I might know what I’m doing. Sort of. My cuticles are still a hot mess, but they’re getting there.

This photo illustrates both my shitty polishing skills and today’s color, on which more anon:

OPI Kinky in Helsinki

OPI Kinky in Helsinki

OK, so, how to get it looking even that tidy, which is not very: First, don’t swipe off SO much of the nail polish. Personally I find it easier to work with a little extra, because what I end up doing is not so much brushing on coats as sort of shoving the blob of color around. I start by putting the brush in the center of the nail, a little bit away from the cuticle, then pushing back towards the cuticle. Then out to the edge… aaaaand repeat on the left and right sides. My thumb usually takes me five strokes, so there’s that. I do find a base coat helps a lot. Then I throw Seche Vite topcoat on so it dries fast (get it? seche vite?) and leave it for about five minutes. At this point if I am taking a picture for you, I get out a q-tip, put polish remover on it, and try to clean up the edges some. At this point I’d be willing to go out in public with the polish as-is, except I didn’t paint the other hand. Ahem.

Now, the color? Meh. It’s a shiny plummy pink, and it’s growing on me a little bit, but I think it’s definitely got too cool an undertone for me to rock. It kind of makes my hands look dead. Don’t get me wrong; I wear blue nail polish, which is about as cool as it gets, but I think that’s supposed to have a different effect. This seems like it should just be a nice pretty shiny color, but it makes me look old and gross. Which is why I didn’t paint the other hand. If you have cool tones in your skin, this would probably be really cute on you; for me, it’s off to the swap pile.

  • OPI Kinky in Helsinki
  • Price: received in swap
  • Rating: *** (out of five); OPI polish wears well on me, at least, and doesn’t tend to chip quickly, but this color is wrongity wrong bad for me.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Olerica permalink
    October 17, 2009 10:03 pm

    Hi!
    The reason the color does not work for you is that you are right – it’s too cool. It’s a great summer color, not so much a great autumn color. It would look great on me though. šŸ™‚ Perhaps I’ll go out and get a great autumn color, paint my nails with it and then swap it with yours. šŸ™‚

  2. October 17, 2009 10:48 pm

    Hee! Sounds good to me šŸ˜‰ I thought of you when I was looking at it and going “this is not a good color for me.”

Leave a Reply

