Skip to content

Holy Cow…

October 17, 2009

I’m back. I was thinking about starting a new blog to talk about perfume, since that seems to be my single most powerful means of feeling Not Like a Schlub. Then I thought, well, sometimes I might want to talk about makeup, and I’ll definitely talk about bath stuff, and then what if I get a haircut or a new shirt? Wait, don’t I already have a blog for all that? Yes, is the answer. Yes I do.

Things haven’t changed so much since last we met; I sort of gave up on dressing stylishly, and am again in a phase where I’m giving it another shot. I have enough decent knit shirts that at least I only leave the house in something with Cthulhu on it if I mean to. I’ve discovered I am, apparently, an Autumn, and have been working to bring my wardrobe and cosmetics in line with that. Still fat, learning to dress for it and accept myself at the size I am.

The major difference is that I now have a perfume addiction. I blame a friend, who shall remain ANONYMous, for introducing me to Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab. From there, I found Arcana, Nocturne Alchemy, etc., etc. — and now I’m branching back out into the realm of the Perfumes that Come In Fancy Bottles. So I anticipate that a majority of the content here, now, will consist of perfume reviews. I’ll try my best to make them interesting. I’ll also give heads-ups on decant circles and perfume sales, because I do those things a lot.

So. Welcome back. Pull up one of the leather chairs by the fire and put your feet up for a while, won’t you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nonnypants permalink
    October 17, 2009 7:17 pm

    That was so subtle that I almost missed it! Welcome back!!!

  2. Olerica permalink
    October 17, 2009 7:33 pm

    She’s BAAAAAAAACCK!

  3. October 23, 2009 3:54 pm

    I hate almost all perfume. I think it all smells like turpentine. However, the other day Cindy and I found that we BOTH actually liked. Kat Von D’s “Sinner”. Just curious if you’ve tried it yet or know of something cheaper like it….

  4. October 23, 2009 6:45 pm

    I haven’t tried it yet. Looking at the notes:
    “delicate top notes of orange blossom, refreshing mandarin, and fleshy plum create a provocative, sultry heart. Rich jasmine blends seamlessly with a white-flower bouquet, beautifully tainted by the spicy warmth of cinnamon, an herb associated with ancient rituals of pleasure. A dark, mysterious back of earthy vetiver, patchouli, and woods enveloped in creamy vanilla and sensual musk lingers on the skin.”

    Hm. Well, I’d need to smell it first. I think you guys might like the smaller brands like BPAL and such better, as they don’t have the alcohol (which throws off the scent for me sometimes). I’d have thought the vetiver was what you smell as turpentine, but looks like not!

    I’ll try to get a sniff of Sinner at Sephora next I’m there and see if there are any BPAL/Arcana dupes of any sort.

Leave a Reply

