Skip to content

Something Permanent-ish

December 18, 2008

So next year is my 30th birthday, and I want to do some kind of permanent or semi-permanent thing to my appearance, you know, to mark the occasion. In the past I’ve gone with piercings and tattoos, but this time, I’m not sure. Help!

I’ve considered dreading my hair, but it’s really short and kind of thin at the moment, so I think I would just probably look like an asshat. I just really want to be able to wear hair bands and have them go UP from the forehead instead of sitting on my flat flat pancake flat hair being all flat. I still haven’t reached a decision, but I suppose I’m leaning towards not doing this.

So what about a piercing? This is the frontrunner, I suppose, but I don’t know what to pierce. I took out my nipple piercings a while ago (and it makes me sad, but frankly I’d had enough of them getting caught on towels and sheets and stuff and yanking on me in unpleasant ways) so that’s not really an option again, as piercing through scar tissue is No Good. I’d like something visible, which means probably on the face somewhere. Eyebrow? Nose? Labret? I’d love to have a nose ring but given my usual state of allergic AGH I am not sure it’d be a great idea to further restrict the nasal passages. Plus I think I’d want both a nostril and a septum piercing, and… well, maybe someday. I think labret piercings look awesome but the healing process worries me a little. Tongue rings are out for me; I’ve already spent more time considering one than anyone should, and the conclusion I’ve reached is no. So I guess eyebrow is the likely front-runner in this competition. I’d probably like a captured bead ring through the outer corner of my left eyebrow, but who knows?

And there’s always the option of getting another tat. In an ideal world, this would be the answer to my question. But here, I don’t have an artist, and I sure as hell don’t have the funds, and also I don’t have a rough sketch I like of what I want. I keep saying the next piece is going to be a tree with a birds’ nest and two birds, one for me and one for my husband; as we have kids I’ll have baby birdies added to the nest. But that doesn’t really commemorate being 30 so much as it does being married. I want half sleeves, but that’s more of a process, plus I have serious bingo arm action at the moment. I know what I want for a back piece and it’s huge and will be very expensive, so that’s out for now. Chest? Maybe? The problem is that I don’t really go in for smaller pieces, so this would probably be prohibitively expensive.

What do you think? What would you do? TELL ME NAO kthx.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sheryls permalink
    December 18, 2008 1:12 pm

    lipring off to the side – i’d totally do that if i could. nngh.

  2. piercedconsumer permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:48 pm

    what about a surface anchor? aka a microdermal, or single point piercing? If you’re thinking about an eyebrow, you get get this near your eyebrow.

    or–how about a tragus? My tragus is one of my favorite piercings! I wear a circular barbell in it, and I can tuck the balls into the ear for a subdued look for work, or bring them out to be visible.

Leave a Reply

