Skip to content

(Belated) Tuesday Reviewsday: Angel Face Botanicals

September 24, 2008

I really did mean to post yesterday, but it’s been That Kind of Week so far. Busy busy and also with the fatigue and depression and O I AM SO GLOOMY for some reason. However! This morning I feel chip-chip-chipper and so provide you with what should have been yesterday’s post. Maybe if we’re all lucky I’ll do a Wednesday post today, too. Anyway, less about me, more about STUFF YOU CAN BUY!

I believe I mentioned last week that I’d ordered a sample-sized Chamomile Exquisite Creme from Angel Face Botanicals, yes? Well, it arrived, along with a little extra something: the Oil-Free Organic Lavender Hydrating Serum. I’ve been using Philosopy’s purity and hope in a jar for my face, but if anything my breakouts seemed to be getting worse. I understand that can happen at first as your skin detoxes itself, but this showed no signs of stopping, and nobody wants to go out with cystic acne on their face. I mean, maybe some people do, but I don’t.

Anyway, I was totally willing to try something new, and I was kind of stoked to find something with COOL packaging that was also handmade and largely organic. I know it’s really shallow but cool packaging is important to me. I don’t really feel like I have a ritual or like I’m indulging myself if the packaging totally sucks, OK? I had a really extensive conversation with Jess, who makes all the products, about the ingredients, what would be best for my skin but non-toxic to someone trying to get pregnant, and so on and so forth. This is a great bonus to buying handmade — it’s like getting a totally boutique experience from someone whose product knowledge is nigh unbeatable.

OK, I’m starting to sound like an ad, but SERIOUSLY PEOPLE. This stuff is THE SHIT. I will try to dig up something to serve as a before picture, so I can show you my after, OK? In only a week of use.

THE PRODUCTS!

First of all, the serum smells like delicious heaven. It’s lavender, which I love, but with something drool-worthy behind it. It’s a clear gel, which makes it fun to apply. You’re meant to remove it with a damp, soft cloth, although the instructions say if you have eczema to leave it on for 10-15 minutes. So I do that, because leaving things on makes me feel like I know what I’m doing, or something. Oh, and it goes on already-clean skin; since I wanted to cut the Philosophy out, I’ve been using French clay mixed with honey. This smells like wet dog and makes me kind of gag but it works well, so.

After I have left the serum on for what seems to me an adequate amount of time to have fully enjoyed the scent, I remove it with a damp cloth (just a little knitted cotton one, I’ll put some like it up on my Etsy shop soon) and then apply the creme. Which smells like a different kind of heaven, a heaven made of tea. It really smells like chamomile. It’s definitely rich, and I might want something else for daytime in the summer, but as we head into dry weather it’s going to be great. Also? Great for nighttime. I only got a wee little sample size and it’s like I haven’t even made a dent in it yet, so it seems to me to also be a fanfuckingtastic value. Hello? Organic, handmade, cute packaging, and effective. And it costs less overall than the Philosophy stuff, OK?

So, after using these products for a week or so — twice daily, once in the morning and once at night — I swear to you there has been some kind of skin miracle. (Seriously, I’m starting to feel like Jessica Simpson and goddamn ProActive or whatever.) The cystic acne has gone down… like, it’s fading away. It’s no longer HORRIBLY OBVIOUS or even especially painful. I also don’t seem to have nearly as many blackheads. My face looks glowy and happy even without putting makeup on it, and the red acne scars seem to be fading. Now. This could be more that I was allergic to whatever crap I was putting on my face before, but I’ve gone with just the honey and clay route and still looked like a zit-face so I think there’s something to these products. Oh, plus? The dark circles under my eyes are far less obvious. I don’t know how that works, but they are. They’re still there for sure, but I don’t look like a raccoon with two black eyes, just… a raccoon.

Look, she has a sampler thingy for 20 bucks. It’s little sizes of everything, but like I said, I just have 2 of the teeny white PET containers and it’s already made a difference for me. Worth a shot, don’t you think? And you can ask Jess for her advice on which products to use for your skin type, too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2008 3:28 pm

    aaawwww….. you’re making me blush!!

    but honestly, it’s hearing how well my products work for my customers make my day–every time:)

    thanks jennie!!

    jessica
    aka SpaGoddess

  2. sheryls permalink
    September 25, 2008 11:36 am

    ok, this gives me hope. it always seems that all this hydrating stuff only serves to make my cystic acne way worse. i’ve avoided moisturizers for years now, just using clinique’s Superbalanced makeup to hydrate where i need it and suckup oil where i don’t (goddamned m’er f’ing combination skin with cystic argh argh argh).

    now that i’m approaching 30 i know i’m gonna need it if i’m gonna keep trying to look 23. 😛 avoiding the sun ftw, but things are starting to get…obvious. and for some reason, i’ve started to have little tiny zits all over my forehead/left cheek/hairline like CRAZYPANTS and i dont know why đŸ˜„

    will def. talk to jess. thanks jen!!

  3. anonyma permalink
    September 28, 2008 4:38 pm

    I just placed an order. I’ve been having post HBC breakouts, which are grieving me awful sore, since I generally have a redhead’s zit-free (though easily irritated) skin.

    You are an evil, evil enabler, but I love you anyhow. Your Elysian sister, anonyma

Leave a Reply

