Skip to content

Oooh, Shiny New Makeups

September 22, 2008

I’m awaiting a bunch of crap in the mail as a result of trades or small purchases over the past couple of weeks, and today I got my order from Pink Quartz Minerals. I got a wee little sample kit with a cute as hell mini kabuki brush, plus Doree sent an extra little sample of a crazy-looking eyeshadow called Lemon Tree. I haven’t tried that one yet, but everything else seems pretty awesome. I’ll do a more thorough review after I’ve used the products for a while, so I can tell you if they cause mysterious breakouts or something, but so far I really like ’em.

Before I ordered I hemmed and hawed over the decision for about a week, as is my way, and Doree was really cool about it and answered all my questions and made recommendations, which honestly is a pretty nice thing to do for someone who’s only ordering teeny little sample thingys from you. I ended up going with the Goldenrod corrector, Plumbelina eyeshadow, and Bliss foundation. The corrector actually seems to make a dent in the appearance of my raccoon eyes, though I do have to admit that applying loose powder under my eyes is going to take a little adaptation before I stop blinking like a crazy thing. The foundation actually seems to be a perfect shade for me; when I first saw it I thought it would be too dark but it looks pretty good in natural light. It has also held up admirably today in the midst of all my weepiness (which is either for no reason or for too many reasons to get into). And I was originally hoping the Plumbelina would be a similar shade to my beloved MAC Trax, but it’s… definitely more pink, and more subtle. That said, it’s also more practical for someone who’s not, say, going dancing at the goth club, and I think I like it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sheryls permalink
    September 25, 2008 11:38 am

    …my foundation color is called “alabaster” – i always wondered when makeup companies would cut the crap and just start naming my color “vampire” or “corpse” or “dear god leave the house once in a while.”

Leave a Reply

